Education in Armenia has long been regarded as a vital part of the nation’s identity and heritage.  Over the past three decades the education sector has been in reformation process, including higher education.  Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sport, higher education institutions, research institutes, civil society and other stakeholders have been actively promoting new sustainable educational approaches for improving access, quality and equity of the national education system.

The Armenian education system consists of 12-year general secondary education (primary, basic and high school), vocational education, higher and postgraduate education. The diagram illustrates the levels of education.

The Armenian higher education system comprises 26 state and 31 private higher education institutions, 7 foreign HEI branches and 5 higher education institutions with the State participation.   Higher education is provided in institutes, universities, academies and conservatory.

Higher education is offered at three levels.  At the first level bachelor (bakalavr) degree programmes are offered and upon their completion students are expected to have basic knowledge, skills and competence  in the speciality  necessary to pursue further studies  at the next level and for commencing work. For bachelor degree qualifications (corresponding to the level 6 of the ANQF and EQF) are set to180-240 credits (with duration of 3-4 years of full-time studies). A necessary condition for admission to bachelor programmes is Certificate of Secondary Education (Full) or a vocational education diploma.

At the second level master degree programmes as well as integrated and clinical residency programmes that aim to give students an in-depth knowledge of the sector, skills and competence to work independently and pursue studies at doctoral level.   Qualifications awarded upon successful completion of programmes are corresponding to the level 7 of the ANQF and are comparable to EQF level 7.

For master (magistros) degree qualifications are set to 60-120 credits (with duration of 1-2 years of full-time studies). A necessary condition for admission to master degree programmes is bachelor degree qualification.

The integrated (long cycle: bachelor and master) programmes are offered in medicine and upon their completion qualifications corresponding to a master degree are awarded.   For qualification of a stamotologist (bjishk-stomatolog) are set 300 credits (5 years of full-time studies) and for  M.D. physician (bjishk-general medicine) are set 360 credits (6 years if full-time studies).

For further medical education and for independent medical practice in different areas students are offered clinical residency programmes that further deepen the theoretical and practical knowledge in chosen area. Duration of these programmes is 1-5 years depending on specialisation and upon successful completion of programmes qualifications of Doctor in medicine (bjishk ordinator) are awarded.

At the highest level of  higher education are offered Doctorate (aspirantura) programmes that aim to provide  students with most advanced theoretical and practical knowledge for further independent  research and professional creative work. A necessary condition for admission to doctoral programmes is a master degree or other comparable qualification.  Duration of studies is 3-4 years of full-time studies of 180 credits.  Upon successful completion of doctoral studies and defense of a thesis candidate of science (gitutyuneri teknatsu) degree is awarded.

Doctor of Sciences (gitutyunneri doctor) is an advanced scientific degree, which is awarded to an individual holding candidate of sciences degree as an acknowledgement of his further scientific achievements and after successful public defense of dessertation.  

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *